When The Devil Came

Short Story 01

“It’s no good, to fall for it time and again. We should exercise some restraint, you know. Or at least pretend to.”

“You’re not a saint and heck, you don’t even know how to fake being one. May as well give into your passions.”

“The price is heavy. Literally and figuratively.”

“You would know.” I winked at her. She was touchy about that issue.

“And you wouldn’t. Once you fall for it, there’s no way back.”

“But sins are not infinite, you know. You can always pull the brakes sometime.”

“That’s like falling for a drug by saying that you can control it. How do you know something that you have neither seen, only heard of?”

“That drug analogy makes sense. Wait, I’ll jot it down.”

“I knew!” Her exasperation was showing. “Instead of telling me to walk away from here, you’re soaking in the fun. You sadist, badass-”

“I’m giving you company.” I reminded her.

“Yeah, only because you’re the saint whose sins don’t show.”

I was about to retort when the waiter came to our table. “Your order, sir.”

Thanking him, I turned towards my friend who had already started munching into the dessert. She gave me an apologetic smile. “I promise it’s the last time.”

I smiled. Mad Over Donuts was one charming place.

 
25
Kudos
 
25
Kudos

Now read this

When God Came For Lunch

Short Story 05 As with all auspicious occasions, this one too was marked by invoking the name of God. He was the savior, the hope, the despair and the joy. The devotees were in a trance as they bowed before him, as they heard stories of... Continue →